About GHTD
ADA Paratransit Service
Board of Directors
Business Opportunities
Drug & Alcohol Testing Consortium
Grantee Reporting
Insurance Consortium
Meeting Information
Member Towns
Recent GHTD Initiatives
Spruce Street Parking Lot
Transportation Links
Union Station

Meeting Minutes

Minutes Audit Committee
Greater Hartford Transit District
Hartford, Connecticut
November 10, 2016

Brendan T. Flynn, Committee Chairman

Mr. Flynn called the Meeting of the Audit Committee of the Greater Hartford Transit District (the “District”) to order at 5:38 p.m. in the Transit District’s Offices, One Union Place, Hartford, Connecticut.  Committee members present included Brendan T. Flynn, Mary A. Oliver, and David Giordano1.  Board member present included Chairman Stephen F. Mitchell.  Reed Risteen and Leslie Zoll of Blum Shapiro and Company were also in attendance. Vicki Shotland, Executive Director, and Nhan Vo-Le, Director of Fiscal and Administrative Services, represented District management.  Ms. Vo-Le served as Acting Committee Secretary.

Mr. Risteen provided an overview of the draft audited Financial Statements (the “Statements”) and the draft Federal and State Single Audit reports (the “reports”) for fiscal year 2016.  Mr. Risteen expressed an unmodified (clean) opinion on the Statements and the reports.  The Statements will be submitted to the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) in December 2016 for a certificate of excellence in financial reporting.  Mr. Risteen concluded the overview with Auditor’s Communication Letter indicating that there were no material weaknesses reported in controls over financial reporting or compliance with federal and state grant requirements.  The audit was completed with no findings, no auditor’s adjustments, or disagreements with management.  

There being no further business brought before the Committee.  Next, the committee and board members met briefly with Mr. Risteen and Ms. Zoll in the absence of management representation.

Mr. Flynn adjourned the meeting at 5:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Nhan Vo-Le, Acting Committee Secretary

On conference call