About GHTD
ADA Paratransit Service
Board of Directors
Business Opportunities
Drug & Alcohol Testing Consortium
Grantee Reporting
Insurance Consortium
Meeting Information
Member Towns
Recent GHTD Initiatives
Spruce Street Parking Lot
Transportation Links
Union Station


Hartford, Connecticut

March 19, 2014

James R. McCavanagh, Committee Chairman

Mr. McCavanagh called a Meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Greater Hartford Transit District (the "District") to order at 10:30 am in the Transit District’s offices at Union Station, One Union Place, Hartford, Connecticut. Committee members present were: Joan Gamble, James R. McCavanagh and William G. Hall. District staff present was Vicki L. Shotland, Executive Director.

Ms. Shotland was then appointed Acting Recording Secretary by general consent. Mr. McCavanagh then read out loud Article V (Election of Officers) to the committee members. Mr. McCavanagh explained to the Nominating Committee that all recommendations on this day would be with express recommendation stipulated under Article V of the District’s By-Laws.

Mr. Hall asked if there were a maximum number of terms under “express recommendation” that any one Director may serve in an officer capacity. Ms. Shotland stated that an officer may serve a greater number of terms than permitted under Article V with the express recommendation of the Nominating Committee and election by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Board of Directors present and voting at the annual meeting in May.

Ms. Gamble moved with express recommendation to nominate Stephen F. Mitchell for the Office of Chairman and Frank Lord for the Office of Vice Chairman. Brendan T. Flynn for the Office of Treasurer, Ms. Mary A. Oliver for the Office of Assistant Treasurer, James R. McCavanagh for the Office of Secretary, and Peter Bonzani for the Office of Assistant Secretary. Upon seconding by Mr. Hall, the motion passed unanimously.

Accordingly, the following slate will be transmitted to the Chairman for submission to the Board of Directors for consideration at the Annual Meeting scheduled for May 29, 2014.

Vice Chairman:
Assistant Secretary:
Assistant Treasurer:
Stephen F. Mitchell*
Frank Lord*
James R. McCavanagh*
Peter Bonzani*
Brendan T. Flynn*
Mary A. Oliver*

*Express recommendation, per By-Laws, requires 2/3 vote of Board Members present and voting.

There being no further business to come before the Committee, Ms. Gamble moved that the Meeting be adjourned. Upon seconding by Mr. Hall, the motion was approved unanimously. The Meeting was adjourned at 10:39 am.


Respectfully submitted,

Vicki L. Shotland/Acting Recording Secretary

Posted: 3/19/14